Weekly Poetry Day I

Commencing the tradition that I started on my last blog (which only lasted a week (which also means that I only did one of these Poetry Days)), from now on Sunday will be Poetry Day. One poem, either contemporary or a classic, will be presented here on bilingual at the end of every week. Maybe I will also find the time to talk about each one a little.

For starters, here is the one I already posted on my no longer existing weblog:

In a Station of the Metro

The apparition of these faces in the crowd;
Petals on a wet, black bough.

Ezra Pound
Personae
1926

(Taken from Poets.org | http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/15421)

And here is this week’s poem:

We Real Cool

The Pool Players.
Seven At The Golden Shovel.

We real cool. We
Left school. We

Lurk late. We
Strike straight. We

Sing sin. We
Thin gin. We

Jazz June. We
Die soon.

Gwendolyn Brooks
The Bean Eaters
1960

(Taken from Poets.org | http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/15433)

I will try to comment on those two a little later.

Leave a Reply

