Proselytized

No, I am not religious all of a sudden. I was proselytized in a musical fashion, which is sort of religious, I guess. Andrew pointed me to Tom Waits and Greg Brown. It is a shame I did not listen to them before. (I had heard of them but that was it.)

So, yesterday I got my hands on Tom Waits’s latest set of records, Orphans: Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards. It is a three-CD set with mostly old-ish but unreleased tracks. Last night I listened to the first two CDs and the third one, Bastards, is playing right now. Holy Shit, that is some great stuff. His smoky voice, the slow pace, the guitar, the piano &c. are terrific. It has been a while that I took so strongly to a musician whom I did not listen to before.

Greg Brown "surprised" me just as much. How could I not know someone like that? I especially enjoy his "Who Woulda Thunk It" and "InaBell Sale;" great guitar playing and songwriting.

Also yesterday, I happened upon a very-best-of album by The Beach Boys (Sounds Of Summer). It was delightful to listen to the classics. In the end, all these surfer tunes made me dig out a collection I have, Summer of Love, which is packed with the ultimate hippie songs from the ’60s and ’70s. This morning, I listened to all four CDs and got high just from the sound.

With all this fantastic music around me right now I get the feeling that I was born in the wrong country, in the wrong decade. Most of today’s music just gives me constant rashes (figuratively speaking, of course); with exceptions, though (Coldplay, The Shins, R.E.M. and the like)

~~~~~

For the Daily Cartoon check yesterday’s first post. But I want to link you to the cartoon on the cover of the calender. It really fits into this "environment."

Leave a Reply

