Wincing with The Shins

Yesterday made me very happy. Not only did I go to a reading (as you can see below) but I also got the new Shins album Wincing the Night Away. [If you go to this link you can also listen to a high quality version of the album’s first single, “Phantom Limb.”] You might remember my anticipation for this record from one of my first posts.

If I had known that it was already available last week (in Switzerland, that is), I would have gotten it earlier. Nevertheless, it is a really good album and I listened to it about five to six times today only. Lately, Oh, Inverted World and Chutes Too Narrow, their first two albums, have been sounding from my stereo more frequently as well.

I want to do justice to the great effort The Shins put into their third record and post quite an extensive review here in a few days, with comments on every song. But first I have to get to know it better, immerse in it, and find the time to write about all that. All I can say right now is that the lyrics are miraculous again. James Mercer is a true poet.

In order to bridge the waiting period you can have a look at the NY Times‘s brief review from the Critics’ Choice on Monday and/or at the one from Rolling Stone from January 10th.

Leave a Reply

