Academy Awards Predicted

I’ve just been sitting here wanting to write something but not knowing what to write about. Then it dawned on me: the Oscars will be awarded tomorrow. Of course, being the film freak-aficionado that I am, I will gladly join in the discussion of predicitions about who’s going to take home a golden statuette and who’ll walk home empty-handed.

Due to the fact that my personal favorites and the actual recipients will greatly differ, I’m going to offer two sets of different predictions—one list of whom I myself would give the Oscars to and one for what I believe the actual winners will be; in each case with a short explanation.

First of, have a look at the list of nominees at IMDb. This way, I only have to give winners for each category and don’t have to list all nominees. Plus, links to the individual movies are collected there as well, i.e. I can save some time on this post.

Best Picture

My Oscar goes to… (haven’t seen Atonement yet) No Country For Old Men because it had me sitting on the edge of my seat. Although I would be extremely happy if Juno got it; highly unlikely, though.

The Oscar will go to… There Will Be Blood simply because it’s such a massive epic and the Academy digs that.

Actor in a Leading Role

My Oscar goes to… (this is hard to judge because I have only seen two of the five performances so far) Daniel Day-Lewis because he really carried the film in a way the other four (probably) didn’t. Plus, he simply moved me.

The Oscar will go to… Daniel Day-Lewis for the same reasons.

Actress in a Leading Role

My Oscar goes to… (this is even harder to judge because I’ve only seen wonderful Ellen Page thus far) Ellen Page (o: because she is Juno and because I want to be sitting on the steps in front of the house singing “Anyone Else But You” with her.

The Oscar will go to… Julie Christie because she simply deserves the damn thing.

Actor in a Supporting Role

My Oscar will go to… Javier Bardem because he scared the living bejesus out of me whilst staying very quiet himself. Did you see those eyes when he strangled the cop at the beginning of the film? Holy fuck, friendo!

The Oscar will go to… Javier Bardem because the Academy just doesn’t want to fuck with this guy. He’ll come after them.

Actress in a Supporting Role

My Oscar will go to… I can’t judge at all because I haven’t seen a single one of them. But I would like to see Cate Blanchett or Amy Ryan get one.

The Oscar will go to… Ruby Dee or Cate Blanchett.

Directing

My Oscar goes to… It’s a full-fledged tie between the Coen Bros and Paul Thomas Anderson. I cannot decide and I would not want to, but if I absolutely had to, it’d be the Coens.

The Oscar will go to… Julian Schnabel because that’ll be the surprise of the night.

Writing (Original Screenplay)

My Oscar goes to… Diablo Cody for Juno because of the way I felt at the end of the film and because of the dialogs. Also, I’m very happy that three (and a half) of these nominees are indie productions.

The Oscar will go to… Diablo Cody for Juno because it’ll be just like with Little Miss Sunshine last year: a respectable indie film is nominated for Best Picture and Best Screenplay, but the Academy doesn’t have the balls to give a Best-Picture trophy to an indie flick, so it’ll get the one for the script.

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

My Oscar goes to… the Coen Bros for No Country For Old Men because the movie is all about the story, unlike There Will Be Blood, which is all about the character of Daniel Day-Lewis.

The Oscar will go to… Paul Thomas Anderson for There Will Be Blood because he won’t get one for directing and because the Academy doesn’t want to acknowledge the achievement of the other three films besides No Country.

Sound Mixing

My Oscar goes to… No Country For Old Men because of those harrowing sounds of the stun gun and the rifle with the home-made silencer on it. It always sent shivers down my spine when that thing went off.

The Oscar will go to… I have no clue, but probably it will go to 3:10 to Yuma or The Bourne Ultimatum

Animated Feature Film

My Oscar goes to… Persepolis for the visual pleasure of the film and the courage of the filmmakers.

The Oscar will go to… Persepolis for much the same reasons and because they don’t want Pixar to win every single time they’re nominated.

As far as all the other categories are concerned, I honestly cannot judge them. You’ll just have to make due with this. I’m curious as to how often I actually was right. Only time will tell. We’ll find out tomorrow night.

If you want, comment about your predictions. I’m curious!

Send to Digg : del.icio.us : reddit : Technorati : StumbleUpon : Facebook : Newsvine : Furl : email

Leave a Reply

