Pre-Oscar Rundown

In a couple of hours, the Oscars will once again be awarded for the past year in (mostly) Hollywood film. So, just like last year, I want to jump on the bandwaggon and offer up my two cents on the nominees: whom I’d give the Oscars to and who I think will ultimately get them. You can find a complete list of nominations at IMDb. Tomorrow, I will then comment on the final outcome and be a little more elaborate about my own votes (I just don’t have that much time right now as the show’s going to start in about half an hour).

For the first time in the ten or so years I’ve watched the awards show live on TV, I’ve actually seen almost every movie that’s been nominated. Of course, this isn’t so hard this year because many films have received multiple nominations.

Motion Picture
My vote: Milk
Academy will give it to: Slumdog Millionaire

Lead Actor
My vote: Mickey Rourke
Academy will give it to: Sean Penn

Lead Actress
My vote: Anne Hathaway
Academy will give it to: Kate Winslet

Supporting Actor
My vote: split between Heath Ledger and Michael Shannon
Academy will give it to: Heath Ledger

Supporting Actress
My vote: Marisa Tomei
Academy will give it to: Penélope Cruz

Director
My vote: David Fincher
Academy will give it to: David Fincher

Original Screenplay
My vote: Frozen River
Academy will give it to: Happy-Go-Lucky

Adapted Screenplay
My vote: Doubt
Academy will give it to: The Reader

Cinematography
My vote: Slumdog Millionaire
Academy will give it to: Slumdog Millionaire

Editing
My vote: Slumdog Millionaire
Academy will give it to: Benjamin Button

Art Direction
My vote: Revolutionary Road
Academy will give it to: Benjamin Button

Costume Design
My vote: Benjamin Button
Academy will give it to: The Duchess

Makeup
My vote: Benjamin Button
Academy will give it to: Benjamin Button

Original Score
My vote: WALL-E
Academy will give it to: Slumdog Millionaire

Original Song
My vote: No idea. If at gunpoint I’d have to say WALL-E
Academy will give it to: Slumdog Millionaire (the one with M.I.A.)

Sound
My vote: The Dark Knight
Academy will give it to: Benjamin Button

Sound Editing
My vote: WALL-E
Academy will give it to: Slumdog Millionaire

Visual Effects
My vote: Benjamin Button
Academy will give it to: Benjamin Button

Animated Feature
My vote: WALL-E
Academy will give it to: WALL-E

Foreign Language Film
My vote: Vals Im Bashir
Academy will give it to: Vals Im Bashir or Entre Les Murs

Documentary Feature
My vote: Man On Wire
Academy will give it to: Trouble The Water (maybe Man On Wire)

Documentary Short
I haven’t the faintest (haven’t seen any of them).

Animated Short
My vote: Presto (without having seen the others)
Academy will give it to: Presto (because Pixar always gets it)

Live Action Short
Same as Documentary Short

Leave a Reply

